Recording at Confetti, gigging, youtubing…all in a day’s work!

At Confetti studios

Well, actually it’s been like a weeks’ work. Last week I went into Confetti studios in Nottingham, for what I saw as an opportunity to get some acoustic guitar tracks down for my next album.

Basically, as well as operating as a commercial recording studio, Confetti is also an educational institute for creative technologies. The whole recording thing came about by me being asked by one of the tutors there if I would mind being the guinea pig for some students there for 3 days. The idea was that they needed a singer songwriter to record for an assessment, and in return I would get some free studio time & also be paid for my work.

It was a win-win situation really, even though I understood that these were 1st year students, and so essentially the recordings might not turn out too great. But hey, I don’t usually record outside of my home studio, so it was an opportunity to potentially do some of the album tracking in a new environment with some creative input, and if not, well, I was getting paid 🙂

Yeah, did I mention I was getting paid? I like money 🙂

So in the end I did come up with, for the most part, some very useable acoustic guitar tracks, ones that I’m sure will make it onto the next album. Vocals? Not so much – although that was mainly due to me being very fussy over vocals – I have to be in an environment I feel totally comfortable in (which I did start to be nearer the end of the three days) and I have to not feel rushed or like people are waiting on me. That’s why I prefer doing vocals at home, so those will probably be re-recorded. See, each day I worked with up to four different groups, and each time we only had an hour – 2 hours to get something down, so it usually ended up being a case of enough time being spent on guitar, then vocals rushed in the last 20 minutes of the session.

I’m just really happy that I got some great sounding acoustic guitar tracks down though – being able to do those in a new environment was refreshing. I also did some tracks with my new baritone ukulele, which again were very well recorded. Overall I was very impressed with the standard of the students work – generally the recordings were of a high standard – but most impressive was the passion & enthusiasm for what they were doing – they obviously really wanted to be there, and wanted to learn, which was great to see.

During that week I also did two gigs – both out of town, one in Long Eaton, & one in Mansfield. The one in Mansfield was my second gig at the Intake Club – and once again I was impressed by the great crowd, good stage, friendly staff & the passion of the event organisers.

I was also impressed by some of the fellow musicians that played that night – particularly Elm Tree Row & Damon Downs Band.

In other news, here’s a video of me performing a cover of ‘Teenager in Love’ on my new Kala KA-B baritone ukulele:

And here’s a video review of my new MXL R144 ribbon microphone, which I have found is excellent for recording electric guitars:

Oh and if you haven’t already, you can grab a copy of my new single, a cover of Katy Perry’s ‘Hot n Cold’, for just 70p from my online shop.

Farewell for now my friends!

Marc.

About Marc Reeves

Folk-pop singer songwriter from Nottingham, UK. 'Sweet, soulful & sentimental songs - Reeves has a superb vocal quality and the lyrics to match' – Evening Post 'His lyrics, music and voice ooze a rare musical maturity that defies his age' – LeftLion magazine 'Listening to the tracks on the album it is staggering when you realise that the voice behind these lyrics is only just on the cusp of turning twenty years old' – Nottingham LIVE magazine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

