LeftLion December 2011 cover shoot escapades!

So yesterday I went to the Black Cherry Lounge (formerly ‘The Rig’) at Rock City in Nottingham. Why was I there? Well, several weeks beforehand LeftLion magazine announced via The Nusic podcast that they were going to be doing something special there. For the December issue of their magazine they wanted to take a photo of the entire Nottingham music scene (or thereabouts, anyway) to use as the cover picture. To do this they had hired out Rock City for an evening. Considering LeftLion are a not-for-profit community organization I found this pretty incredible.

The idea was fun, brought creatively minded people together and also helped to create press/social media buzz about Nottingham (yet some people still weren’t pleased – more on that later!) So there I was, stood in the Black Cherry Lounge with a group number, waiting for it to be called so I could take my place within the photoshoot going on in the main stage area of Rock City. I swear everywhere I looked all evening there were familiar faces.Β  Gerry Trimble, Long Dead Signal, Gallery 47, Delta Sun, The Golden Troubadours/Oldboy, the Nusic team, Nina Smith, Motormouf, Royal Gala members, Breadchasers, Baby Godzilla, Poddingham Paul, Liam Bailey, Mr Roo Inns, Roger, Bainy & Andy from Notts live – yeah, I could be here all night – you get the picture!

Once the photoshoot kicked off we all stood there for half an hour or so whilst everybody tried to organise themselves amongst the chaos. There were so many people there it was hard to get everyone in the picture, so ‘take a step back’ got called out a fair bit! There were some issues with taller people blocking others, but seeing as the photo was taken from above at an angle I think it should turn out OK.

Whilst this was going off there were two hipster/indie kid types behind me, presumably from some band too awesome for a mere mortal such as myself to have heard of. I wish I knew who these guys were so I could name & shame them (although I’m too nice to do that anyway) as these guys were some of the BIGGEST PRICKS I have ever come across in my life. They spent the entire shoot whining about ‘how shit‘ it was, saying over and over ‘this is a TERRIBLE idea’ etc in mocking, whiny voices. I was so tempted to say to them ‘well if it’s so shit, why the fuck are you here??‘ Granted, the organisation of the whole event wasn’t perfect – but why would it be? They should appreciate that lots of people had worked fucking hard, in their SPARE TIME to make it happen. I’d like to see them do better anyway – although considering at one point they said ‘we’re the only ones here who are going to make it anyway‘ (yes, they really did say that) they probably thought they were masters of the fucking universe or something.

Anyway, despite that dampener on the evening there was only one other disappointment for me. After the shoot there was an after party in the Black Cherry Lounge – only about 50 odd people stuck around for it, out of 400 odd people. Way to miss an excellent networking opportunity, Nottingham! Seriously, this is one thing that disappoints me about the Notts music scene – you get an amazing opportunity like that, and people don’t make the most of it. Still, those of us that stuck around had a laugh and a banter and all was good. Motormouf and an eclectic array of other musicians all entertained us with a freestyle jam on the mini stage there too, which was cool.

So yeah, all in all a fantastic evening, only marred slightly by some people’s attitudes. I would like to say a HUUUUUUGE thanks to LeftLion (and Nusic too, and Parisa from Basement Forte) for organizing the whole thing – I am very grateful for such an awesome opportunity. I await the December magazine in anticipation! πŸ˜€

About Marc Reeves

Folk-pop singer songwriter from Nottingham, UK. 'Sweet, soulful & sentimental songs - Reeves has a superb vocal quality and the lyrics to match' – Evening Post 'His lyrics, music and voice ooze a rare musical maturity that defies his age' – LeftLion magazine 'Listening to the tracks on the album it is staggering when you realise that the voice behind these lyrics is only just on the cusp of turning twenty years old' – Nottingham LIVE magazine
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to LeftLion December 2011 cover shoot escapades!

  1. Yeah – was a great time. Well done Jared and the LL Team. I knew there was a lot going on in Notts, but its only when you see that volume of people that you begin to realise how much potential there is. After party was fun, I was just gutted I didn’t really know more of the people there. I think I need to up my schmooze game!

    • marcreeves says:

      Yep definitely! The sheer amount of musicians and talented, creative people from in and around the city is staggering! It was great to have a large percentage of that all under one roof πŸ™‚ And yep schmoozing was definitely in order methinks πŸ˜›

  2. David Baird says:

    Hi Marc – I’m David the photographer who was taking the cover shot. Thanks for taking the time to write about the shoot. As you can imagine this was a tricky shoot to pull off with the sheer number of people involved! Since Jared first approached me a few months ago with the idea it’s been the one thing on my mind!

    It was great to see so many people there and get a visual on how many people are actively involved in music across Nottinghamshire.

    Keep your eyes peeled for the photo – it looks fantastic!

    • Marc Reeves says:

      Hey David – not at all! I can certainly imagine how difficult it must have been to pull the photo off – I was rather impressed on the night how it did all turn out. Considering the amount of things that could have gone wrong I think it’s amazing it turned out how it did. Congrats to yourself and the other photographers involved for handling it so well!

      I await the finished photo in great anticipation πŸ˜€

      All the best, Marc.

  3. Stuart says:

    Well done LeftLion, good stuff. There may be a pointer later in that piece as to why there hasn’t been a great ‘scene’ in local music.

    • Marc Reeves says:

      I second that Stuart! They deserve a round of applause methinks πŸ™‚ Regarding the music scene in Nottingham, there may not have been that unity in the past, but I really believe it’s starting to happen now. At the very least the buzz going on currently is exciting and something special!

Leave a Reply

